Berry Gardens - the team and the business

Berry Gardens Limited is the wholly owned marketing business of Berry Gardens Growers. Berry Gardens Growers are unique in the industry within the UK in being wholly grower owned. On joining the co-operative each grower owner becomes a member and shareholder in the co-operative. In our opinion, this is what sets us apart, in ensuring that we focus on delivering the various best service to all of our stakeholders; sharing the costs and benefits, saving a great deal in the supply chain and intuitively understanding what it takes to delight the consumer with the very best product.

Our growers are involved within the governance structure of the business. The Board of Berry Gardens Growers draws its membership from our growers across the UK, including the major soft fruit producing areas of East Anglia, Herefordshire, Kent and Scotland and we work hard to ensure the correct blend of marketing and agronomic expertise, whatever our member’s location and speciality. Passionate and knowledgeable about our subject, most of us have spent a lifetime in the business; we are also widely represented across wider industry groups. The co-operative Board meets four times a year to review the progress of the marketing company and our overall business and strategy.

The Executive Team of Berry Gardens Limited works closely together on a daily basis but meets at least monthly to formally discuss business issues. The Board of Berry Gardens Limited is made up of the Managing Director, Sales Director, Finance Director, Technical Director and four grower Directors together with our two Non-Executive Directors. This Board meets monthly, including four joint meetings with the Board of Berry Gardens Growers.

We aim to meet all growers within our co-operative on a regular basis, either on farm, or through our regional meeting programme.

The Boards of Berry Gardens Growers Ltd

Alastair Brooks* - Chairman, Berry Gardens Growers and Berry Gardens Limited
Goodnestone, Kent

Robin Walker* - Vice Chairman and Independent Non-Executive Director, Berry Gardens Growers and Berry Gardens Limited

Angus Davison MBE - Former Chairman Berry Gardens Growers and currently a Director of Berry Gardens Growers, Ledbury, Herefordshire

Anthony Snell, Berry Gardens Growers, Harewood End, Herefordshire

Charles Kidson* – Berry Gardens Growers and Berry Gardens Limited, Gnosall, Staffordshire

Iain Brown, Berry Gardens Growers, Fife, Scotland

Marion Regan, MBE - Former Chairman Berry Gardens Growers and currently a Director of Berry Gardens Growers, Mereworth, Kent

Robert Pascall* - Berry Gardens Growers, Coxheath, Kent

Tim Place - Berry Gardens Growers, Norwich, Norfolk

Graham Keniston-Cooper* - Independent Non-Executive Director Berry Gardens Growers and Berry Gardens Limited

Berry Gardens Ltd Executive Team

Jacqui Green* - Chief Executive Officer

Nick Allen* - Chief Operating Officer, Finance

Richard Harnden - Director of Research

Mike Gibbon - Sales Director

David Northcroft - Technical and Development Director

*Also a member of the Board for Berry Gardens Ltd